modern quilt · quilting · Scrap quilts

Summer and Supernova Friendship Block

Well, the past few months have been crazy busy!  A quilt show, a graduation quilt, a wedding quilt , my first lone star quilt, and my first long distance quilt buddy Supernova Block Swap exchange. I will blog about the eight pointed star today.

First, the graduation quilt was for my niece, Abby, who l-0-v-e-s pink and purple. This is what I came up with. She kinda on the tall side so I made it California King size.

20140527_132001.jpg

The Supernova friendship block swap was fantastic! I was paired with a new friend from Colorado and we enjoyed writing each month a little about ourselves as we mailed off our blocks to share along with goodies. We selected a line of fabric to use and each ordered a fat quarter bundle then each month we pulled fabric of our choosing to make two blocks; one to keep and one to mail. I finished the quilt and love that it is part mine and part Stacey.

20150829_174738

The lone star quilt was a two fabric challenge. The star pieces were donated to me and did not come with instructions. As I pieced my final section, and made a final press, a very stubborn bubble appeared in my quilt. I tried in vain for HOURS to force the lump out. I finally dissected the whole thing, placed each section in measured quadrants, and found the ONE small area that  was not sewn correctly! After 20 hours of reworking the top I finally had it assembled. I love the end results. I’m very happy with the overall look. I used a new brand of thread and new brand of batting. Aurifil 50 wt. thread gave me excellent stitch quality and I used Quilters Dream wool batting which made the travel of needle and thread super easy!

My first eight pointed star. This queen size quilt with off white borders allowed for plenty of free motion quilting.
My first eight pointed star. This queen size quilt with off white borders allowed for plenty of free motion quilting.

Ever have one of those projects that seemed simple in your mind before you began, only to find major potholes in the road to the finish line?

Happy stitching!

Happy summer!

 

Leave a Reply

